Band Of The Week: Of The Dark I Dare

21740482_798250130344689_3099158849414091412_n.jpg

Over the last few years I’ve really gained an affinity towards electronic music, especially synth driven music. There are quite a few bands that I’ve come across from this realm that I’ve really grown to enjoy. Last night before I was watched Spirit In The Room decimate the audience at The Satellite, I got there just in time to watch a band called Of The Dark I Dare. Their blend of dark wave, goth and haunting synth driven music really peaked my interest. One of the most profound things about Of The Dark I Dare is the vocals of Tracy Lorin. Her voice is soaring and fits the darkness of the beats and synths of drummer Christopher Hendrich and keyboardist Rickey Lumpkin. Lyrically, the words come across as more poetic than just words. Of The Dark I Dare have described their sound as cemetery pop, to which I think is a pretty interesting and provocative way to draw people in. While the music and lyrics are dark, there is definitely a pop sensibility to the band that doesn’t take away from the vibe they are putting out.

 

Of The Dark I Dare- Sleeping Bodies:

 

Of The Dark I Dare- Stars:

Leave a comment