Shrine Hall

Live Review: Brand New @ Shrine Expo Hall

20150415_215749When you go to a show to see a band that has really influenced you or has left a mark on your life it really has a special place amongst all the other shows. Brand New is one of those bands that has a special place for me. Their album The Devil and God Are Raging Inside Me is one of my favorite albums of all time and is in constant rotation amongst all the music I listen to. So, when the opportunity came to procure tickets to this show, it was a no brainier. Kicking off their set was a brand new song called “Mene.” This was a great high energy song that set the tone for the night. The crowd was in full force once “Millstone” was played. While looking around the crowd during that song, there wasn’t one person who wasn’t singing along. Hell, throughout the entire night there really wasn’t one person that wasn’t singing along to the songs. Other highlights from the set were “You Won’t Know,” “Sic Transit Gloria…Gloria Fades,” “The Quiet Things That No One Ever Knows,” “Okay I Believe You, But My Tommy Gun Don’t,” “Degausser,” “Sowing Season” and “Jesus.” Actually the entire setlist was wonderful. The band had so much energy and you could tell they were really enjoying being on stage playing for the sold out crowd. Singer/Guitarist Jesse Lacey, is one hell of a songwriter, as is the rest of the band. His performance of these songs was astonishing, and his vocal delivery live is just wow.

There were two other bands that played the evening. Built To Spill and Desaparecidos were the openers. Both bands were just eh. I would have expected more from Built To Spill. They are talented musicians, but I was expecting a more upbeat performance, not something that was so laid back.

There are a couple things worth mentioning about the venue. The Shrine Expo Hall is a horrible place for a show. There is no acoustic treatment in the place, so the sheer magnitude of volume is just bouncing off the walls. Also it’s right by USC so it’s in the middle of South Central Los Angeles, which isn’t fun at all.

Brand New made it all worth while. I can’t wait for their new album to come out, whenever that might be. They really know how to put on a show and pack one hell of a punch live.

Brand New Setlist:

1. Mene
2. Sink
3. Gasoline
4. Millstone
5. You Won’t Know
6. Sic Transit Gloria…Glory Fades
7. I Will Play My Game Beneath The Spin Light
8. The Quiet Things That No One Ever Knows
9. Okay I Believe You, But My Tommy Gun Don’t
10. Mix Tape
11. Untitled 04 (Missing You)
12. At The Bottom
13.You Stole
14. Brothers
15. Sowing Season
16. Luca
17. Degausser
18. Jesus


19. Sealed To Me

By: Brian Lacy

Photo By: Alisa Diaz