You Might Have Missed: Hurt

logo.jpg

I can’t even begin to think about how many bands I’ve listened to in my life that are so good that many people missed out on. I’m sure there are plenty that I’ve missed out on too. There is one band that has been on my mind the past couple weeks that I feel never really got their due. That band is Hurt. In 2005 the released their major label debut entitled Volume I. That album is truly great, top to bottom from the vocals, music, lyrics and production. Songs like “Rapture,” “Overdose,” “Falls Apart,” “House Carpenter, and “Danse Russe,” show how powerful this band is. Volume II picked up where Volume I left off. Songs such as “Summer’s Lost,” “Ten Ton Brick,” “Talking To God,” “Loaded,” and “Assurance,” really stood out on the album and if anything got heavier in the music and lyrics. Their third album Goodbye To The Machine is a little bit of a let down especially with the first two albums being so good. Thankfully not too long after, Hurt got themselves back on track and released The Crux especially the song “How We End Up Alone.” This album to me summed up what the band is. It’s got all the greatness from Volumes I & II along with the more subtle simplicities of Goodbye To The Machine.

Hurt live is spectacular. I’ve seen them a few times and each time was even more powerful than the last. Singer J. Loren Wince is so intense with his vocal performances live, that it becomes hypnotic when you watch and listen to him. His general delivery and belief in each song comes through beautifully. The rest of the band has changed a lot over the years but the songs seem to bring out the best in whomever is playing the songs.

 

Rapture:

 

Overdose:

 

Falls Apart:

 

Danse Russe:

 

Ten Ton Brick:

Talking To God:

 

Loaded:

 

Assurance:

 

How We End Up Alone:

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. I have been a fan since day one. I believe that their music is unique, and so over looked. Anytime someone says, “who’s Hurt?” I show them. Everyone deserves great music, lyrics, and a soulful experience. Hurt provides that for me and so many.

Leave a Reply

